Buying beer on Sunday in Texas is legal effective September 01, 2021. Alcohol to Go is in effect. Restaurants can sell anytime. Are you a newbie in Texas who is not sure how late one can buy beer on Sunday in Texas? Or have you ever gone to a restaurant on Sunday before noon and attempted to buy a beer or wine? The waiter informs you to wait until noon to buy beer. Well, times have changed and TEXAS is keeping up with the times.
TEXAS CAN LEGALLY BUY ALCOHOL BEFORE NOON ON SUNDAYS
Can you buy beer before noon on Sunday in Texas? 10 A.M. on Sunday in Texas is now the go to time for alcohol in Texas. The current beer laws of Texas under the current legislation no longer restricts the sale of beer to Texans on Sunday before noon. The tradition of not allowing Texans to buy beer before noon on Sunday in Texas to customers started as far back as 1935 upon the enactment of the Texan Liquor Control Act. The tradition of not buying beer before noon on Sunday in Texas is “blue laws”. It forbade the sale of certain items on Sundays as a means of keeping Sunday as a day of worship and rest.
HB 1518 allows Texans to buy Beer before noon in Texas
On the 28th of March 2021, the Texas legislature approved House Bill 1518 allowing Texans to buy beer and wine on Sunday as early as 10am. This new legislation scheduled to take effect on the 1st of September 2021. The Bill sponsored by Rep. Harold Dutton Jr. (D-Houston) and approved by a 114-24 vote. Gov. Greg Abbott signed the bill on June 18.
Grocery and convenience permit beer and wine sales from 7 a.m. to midnight Monday through Friday. 7 a.m. to 1 a.m. on Saturday night/Sunday morning also.
The Bill allowing Texans to buy beer before noon on Sunday in Texas was accompanied by a Senate Amendment Bill. House Bill 1518 was approved by the legislature in May. House Bill 1518 permits hotels to sell beer to hotel guests at any hour of the day on Sunday.
Under the new Texas Alcohol law, restaurants opened on Sunday can now sell beer to their customers at any time of the day. This will boost patronage and result in more sales. The law assures customers they can buy a pint or bottle of beer of their choice while eating without restrictions.
Alcohol to Go in Texas
One of the new Texas alcohol laws signed by Gov. Greg Abbott is House Bill 1024. This bill allows the inclusion of beer, wine and mixed drinks in pickup and delivery food orders. This concept is tagged “alcohol-to-go.” This new legislation is hailed as an innovative response to the devastating effects of over 700,000 employees losing their jobs in Texas during the 2020 pandemic as reported by the Texas Restaurant Association. In a press release, Bentley Nettles, executive director of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, said, “This new law will help businesses keep their doors open and ensure Texans keep their jobs”.
Don’t drink and drive in Texas
The beer laws of Texas prohibit anyone under the age of 21 from buying or attempting to buy beer. It is also illegal for a person under 21 to purchase beer using a false ID. Although a person under the age of 21 can drink beer on the presence of a parent, guardian, or spouse who is above 21 or at least 21 years of age. It is also illegal in Texas to drive under the influence of alcohol. The penalty can either be a conviction for 3-180 days in jail for a first time offender or a driving license suspension for two years.